Open Search

Financial Information

Scholarships: J.B. Toews Historical Commission Scholarship

Established in 2015, this scholarship recognizes the contributions of J.B. Toews (1906–1998), the first executive secretary of the Mennonite Brethren Historical Commission (1974–1986). Toews helped Mennonite Brethren better understand their Anabaptist-Mennonite heritage, set up a system of archival repositories for U.S. and Canadian Mennonite Brethren churches, and raised funds for the “Cloud of Witnesses Endowment” that continues to support the ongoing work of the Historical Commission. The scholarship is awarded to a Mennonite Brethren student with a demonstrated interest in Anabaptist-Mennonite history and theology.

A completed application and reference letter must be submitted to the Awards Committee by April 30. Students will be informed before the end of June whether they have received this scholarship.


The following criteria will guide the CMU Awards Committee in selecting a recipient:

Scholarship Amount

The amount available annually will be $1,000.


Applicable Forms

NOTE: Please download forms to your computer and open/complete the form using Adobe Reader. Opening and completing the form from within your browser or Mac Preview will not save the data you enter.

Print This Page