General News News Releases

CMU Congratulates Hildebrand, Filmon, Boldt

January 14, 2013  – His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, on December 30, 2012 announced 91 new appointments to the Order of Canada. The new appointees included two Companions (C.C.), 33 Officers (O.C.) and 56 Members (C.M.).

Of particular pleasure to Canadian Mennonite University (CMU), the recent appointments to Members of the Order of Canada included Mr. Elmer Hildebrand, C.M., O.M., and Ms Janice Filmon, C.M., O.M., two Manitobans who are special friends to CMU and who serve as volunteer Cabinet Chair and volunteer Cabinet member, respectively, for Canadian Mennonite University’s CONNECT Campaign.

Also honoured, receiving the appointment of Officer of the Order of Canada, is highly decorated Paralympian Arnold Boldt, O.C., of Saskatchewan, who is a CMU alumnus. Boldt is a 1981 graduate of Canadian Mennonite Bible College, a founding college of CMU, and is a legendary athlete and role model in Canada’s athletic community.

“CMU cherishes its connections to friends and alumni,” says CMU President Cheryl Pauls. “We take particular pleasure in seeing fine Canadian citizens such as these receiving recognition for all that they do for their communities through the many civic causes to which they lend their leadership and efforts. We extend our congratulations to Elmer Hildebrand, Janice Filmon, and Arnold Boldt for the high distinction they have received through their Order of Canada appointments.”

The Order of Canada was established in 1967, Canada’s centennial year, by Queen Elizabeth II. Appointments are made upon the recommendation of the AdvisoryCouncil for the Order  of Canada. The motto for the Order of Canada is the Latin phrase, desiderantes meliorem patriam – “they desire a better country.” There are three levels of service within the Order of Canada – Companion, Officer, and Member. Services of investiture will be held in 2013.

A Christian university in the Anabaptist tradition, CMU offers undergraduate degrees inarts, business, humanities, music, sciences, and social sciences, as well as two graduate degree programs. CMU has over 1,600 students, including Menno Simons College and Outtatown students, and is a member of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC)


Government of Canada Citations*



Elmer Hildebrand, C.M., O.M. – Winnipeg, MB

For his contributions to the development of community service radio in western Canada and to various charitable causes.


Janice Filmon, C.M., O.M. – Winnipeg, MB

For her tireless commitment to a variety of charitable causes, ranging from cancer research and treatment to youth and human rights.



Arnold Boldt, O.C. – Saskatoon, SK

For his achievements in sport and for his contributions as a role model for people with disabilities.